New York State Outdoor Burn Ban

The outdoor burn ban is in effect from March 16- May 14. Open burming is prohibited in NYS, with
several exceptions:

» Camp fires or any other outdoor fires less than 3 feet in height and 4 feet in length, width or
diameter are allowed;

s Small cooking fires are allowed:

» Ceremonial or celebratory bonfires are allowed. Disposal of flags or religious items in a
small-sized fire is allowed, if it is not otherwise prohibited by law or regulation;

= Only charcoal or dry, clean, untreated or unpainted wood can be burned;
Fires cannot be left unattended and must be fully extinguished;

» Open burning is the single greatest cause of wildfires in New York State.

Since the spring burn ban was implemented in 2009, the number of wildfires has decreased by more
than 40%. For more information on the burn ban, please visit DEC's website.




